Justo-Gallego-basse-site.jpg

JUSTO GALLEGO MARTINEZ

JUSTO GALLEGO MARTINEZ

112 x 146 cm -  Oil on Canvas

STORY

My name is Justo Gallego. I was born in Mejorada del Campo on September 20, 1925. Since I was very young, I have had a deep Christian faith and I wanted to dedicate my life to the Creator. For this reason, at the age of 27, I entered the monastery of Santa María de la Huerta, in the province of Soria, from which I was excluded because of tuberculosis, for fear of contamination of the rest of the community.

 

When I returned to Mejorada and was disappointed by the failure of this first spiritual journey, I decided to build a work to offer to God on a piece of land belonging to my family. Little by little, this building was erected using the family patrimony that I had at my disposal. There are no plans for the building, no official project.

 

Everything is in my head. I am not an architect, nor a mason, nor do I have any training in the building trade. My education was interrupted when the civil war broke out. Inspired by various books on cathedrals, castles and other reference buildings, I gave birth to my own work. But my main source of light and inspiration has been, above all, the word of Christ. It is he who guides and sustains me, and it is to him that I offer my work, in gratitude for the life he has given me and in penance for those who do not follow his path.

 

For 42 years I have dedicated myself to the construction of this cathedral, even getting up at 3:30 in the morning to start my day.

With the exception of a few occasional helpers, I have done it all by myself, mostly with recycled materials... and there is no scheduled completion date. I limit myself to offering to the Lord each day of work that He wants to concede me and to feel happy with what I have already accomplished. And so I will continue, until the end of my days, pursuing this work with the very generous help that you offer me.

 

All this so that God may be gracious to us and let us enjoy the Eternal Glory at His side.

Press articles

  • gram
  • facebook
  • Youtube

Justo-Gallego-basse-site.jpg

JUSTO GALLEGO MARTINEZ

JUSTO GALLEGO MARTINEZ

112 x 146 cm -  Huile sur toile

Histoire

Je m’appelle Justo Gallego. Je suis né à Mejorada del Campo le 20 septembre 1925. Depuis mon plus jeune âge, j’éprouve une profonde foi chrétienne et j’ai voulu consacrer ma vie au Créateur. C’est pour cette raison que je suis entré à l’âge de 27 ans au monastère de Santa María de la Huerta, dans la province de Soria, d’où je fus exclu parce qu’atteint de tuberculose, par crainte de contamination du reste de la communauté.

 

De retour à Mejorada et déçu par l’échec de ce premier chemin spirituel, j’ai décidé de construire, sur un terrain de labour appartenant à ma famille, une œuvre à offrir à Dieu. Petit à petit, cet édifice fut érigé en utilisant le patrimoine familial dont je disposais. Il n’existe ni plans du bâtiment, ni projet officiel.

 

Tout est dans ma tête. Je ne suis pas architecte, ni maçon, je n’ai aucune formation aux métiers du bâtiment. Mon éducation fut interrompue quand la guerre civile éclata. M’inspirant de différents livres sur les cathédrales, châteaux et autres édifices de référence, j’ai donné naissance à mon propre ouvrage. Mais ma source principale de lumière et d’inspiration a été, surtout et avant tout, la parole du Christ. C’est lui qui me guide et me soutient et c’est à lui que j’offre mon travail, en remerciement pour la vie qu’il m’a accordée et en pénitence pour ceux qui ne suivent pas son chemin.

 

Cela fait 42 ans que je me consacre à la construction de cette cathédrale, jusqu’à me lever à 3 h 30 du matin pour commencer ma journée.

À l’exception de quelques aides ponctuelles, j’ai tout fait tout seul, la plupart du temps avec des matériaux recyclés… et il n’y a pas de date prévue pour la fin du chantier. Je me limite à offrir au Seigneur chaque jour de travail qu’Il veut bien me concéder et à me sentir heureux avec ce que j’ai déjà accompli. Et ainsi je continuerai, jusqu’à la fin de mes jours, en poursuivant cette œuvre avec l’aide très généreuse que vous m’offrez.

 

Tout cela pour que Dieu nous soit bienveillant et nous fasse profiter de la Gloire Éternelle à Ses côtés.

Articles de presse

  • instagram
  • facebook
  • youtube