GUATEMALA FINAL.jpeg

GREEN BLOOD - Guatemala
Paris - Grand Palais Ephémère - Art Capital
From 16 to 20 February 2022


 

Green Blood - Guatemala

135 x 201 cm -  Oil on Canvas

STORY

On June 17, 2019, around thirty international media simultaneously published Project Green Blood , the code name of a vast collaborative investigation carried out in India, Guatemala and Tanzania by around forty investigative journalists belonging to around fifteen organs. Press.

 

At the origin of this project, Forbidden Stories, the collective of journalists from the Freedom Voices Network , an association created in 2017 by Laurent Richard , from the Première Lignes agency (Cash Investigation, on France 2).

 

One principle: resume, continue and publish the investigations of journalists forced into silence throughout the world by intimidation, pressure, prosecution, persecution or assassination. An inspiration: the Arizona Project , set up in 1976 by 38 journalists from 28 American media to complete the investigation of Don Bolles , killed in the criminal explosion of his car, while investigating a corruption case.

 

A context: collaborative journalism which has revolutionized the investigative press since the Panama Papers (380 journalists, 11 million documents exchanged).

 

In Guatemala, the Maya community of the village of El Estor denounces the pollution caused by the largest nickel mine in Central America. It all started when a red slick suddenly covered the lake near the mine. To investigate this mysterious contamination, the members of Project Green Blood go to meet Carlos Choc , a Mayan journalist sued by the owners of the mine and who, to escape prison, lives in hiding.

 

Journalists are trying to measure the contamination near the nickel mine. Local people complain of respiratory problems and skin diseases.

 

Local people who demonstrate to denounce environmental contamination are bloodily repressed. Abuses that have been suppressed to the highest level of the state.

The investigation focuses on a judge with a sulphurous reputation, who tries by all means to prevent the Mayan journalist Carlos Choc from continuing his investigation into the nickel mine.

francetv-white.png
961a02d5-phpgo9nrq.png

Press articles

  • gram
  • facebook
  • Youtube

GUATEMALA FINAL.jpeg

GREEN BLOOD - Guatemala
 

Green Blood - Guatemala

135 x 201 cm -  Huile sur toile

Histoire

Le 17 juin 2019, une trentaine de médias internationaux publiaient simultanément le Projet Green Blood, nom de code d’une vaste enquête collaborative menée en Inde, au Guatemala et en Tanzanie par une quarantaine de journalistes d’investigation appartenant à une quinzaine d’organes de presse.

 

À l’origine de ce projet, Forbidden Stories, le collectif de journalistes du Freedom Voices Network, association créée en 2017 par Laurent Richard, de l’agence Premières Lignes (Cash Investigation, sur France 2).

 

Un principe : reprendre, poursuivre et publier les enquêtes de journalistes contraints au silence à travers le monde par l’intimidation, les pressions, les poursuites, la persécution ou l’assassinat. Une inspiration : le Projet Arizona, mis sur pied en 1976 par 38 journalistes de 28 médias américains afin de terminer l’enquête de Don Bolles, tué dans l’explosion criminelle de sa voiture, alors qu’il enquêtait sur une affaire de corruption.

 

Un contexte : le journalisme collaboratif qui révolutionne la presse d’investigation depuis les Panama Papers (380 journalistes, 11 millions de documents échangés).

 

Au Guatemala, la communauté maya du village d'El Estor dénonce la pollution causée par la plus grande mine de nickel d'Amérique centrale. Tout a commencé lorsqu'une nappe rouge a subitement recouvert le lac aux abords de la mine. Pour enquêter sur cette mystérieuse contamination, les membres du Projet Green Blood vont à la rencontre de Carlos Choc, un journaliste maya poursuivi en justice par les propriétaires de la mine et qui, pour échapper à la prison, vit dans la clandestinité.

 

Les journalistes tentent de mesurer la contamination aux abords de la mine de nickel. Les populations locales se plaignent de problèmes respiratoires et de maladies cutanées.

 

Les populations locales qui manifestent pour dénoncer la contamination environnementale sont réprimées dans le sang. Des exactions qui ont été étouffées jusqu'au plus haut niveau de l'État.

L'enquête se resserre sur un juge à la réputation sulfureuse, qui tente par tous les moyens d'empêcher le journaliste maya Carlos Choc de poursuivre son enquête sur la mine de nickel.

francetv-white.png
961a02d5-phpgo9nrq.png

Articles de presse

  • instagram
  • facebook
  • youtube